Merrill Varsity Wrestling Program holds annual banquet

Boys Wrestling Program awards were given to the folllowing wrestlers. Front row L to R: Austin Depies (Most Pins Award), Mikal Plautz (Ogre Award and Legion Award), and Noah Klug (Charles Gustin Outstanding Wrestler Award). Back row L to R: Remington Skic (Rod Genrich Memorial Most Takedowns Award and Most Dedicated Award), Dusty Schmirler (Most Improved Underclassmen Award and Most Team Points Award), and Yandel Carillo Vidal (Most Improved Upperclassmen Award and Jered Severt Coaches Award). Photo courtesy of Merrill Wrestling Program.


The Merrill Varsity Wrestling Program held their annual Wrestling Banquet on Monday, March 4, 2024, at the VFW in Merrill. Varsity team members on both the Boys and Girls Wrestling Teams were recognized for their performances and contributions to the team and support of other team members at the event. Some of the awards are self-explanatory, but others, like the Ogre and Legion Awards, may require an explanation.
The Ogre Award is given to the Senior who gets the most out of his or her ability, gives 100%, and leads by example. The Legion Award is given to the Senior who best displays citizenship, leadership, sportsmanship, competitiveness, and value to the team. The Jered Severt Coaches Award is given to an upperclassmen who displays best what it means to be a Merrill wrestler. And the Bluejay Award is given to the wrestler who most shows pride in being a Merrill Bluejay.

Girls Wrestling Team awards were given to: Allison Hunter (Charles Gustin Outstanding Wrestler Award), Kaylynn Allen (Leadership Award), and Merin Yates (Most Improved Award). Photo courtesy of Merrill Wrestling Program.
Mikal Plautz was this year’s recipient of the Legion Award. L to R: Kurt Perra (Legion member), Mikal Plautz, and John Van Lieshout (Middle School wrestling coach and Legion member). Photo courtesy of Merrill Wrestling Program.

Adison Clark received the Bluejay Award. Photo courtesy of Merrill Wrestling Program.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top