New inductees welcomed into Merrill Baseball Hall of Fame

The three new inductees at this year’s Merrill Baseball Hall of Fame ceremony, L to R: Dave Pyan, Mike Helmuth, and Jeff Beyer. Submitted photo.


The Merrill Baseball Hall of Fame (HOF) night originally scheduled to take place on Friday, June 28, 2024, was moved to Saturday, June 29, due to inclement weather. Between the two American Legional Tournament ball games, the Merrill Baseball Program inducted new members into the Merrill Baseball Hall of Fame.
Jeff Beyer, Mike Helmuth, and Dave Pyan were inducted into the Merrill Baseball HOF and their names join the list of other elite Merrill baseball players engraved on the HOF plaque on the historic granite wall at Athletic Park. Beyer and Helmuth were recognized as players, and Pyan was recognized as player, coach, and contributor.
Two teams were also honored: The Merrill High School (MHS) Varsity Baseball Team that won the 1990 Wisconsin Valley Conference Championship and the MHS Varsity Baseball Team that won the 1991 WIAA State Tournament were recognized during the ceremony.

Six members of the 1990 and 1991 MHS Varsity Baseball teams were in attendance, representing their teams that were honored in Saturday night’s program. Submitted photo.
Mike Helmuth (new HOF inductee) is pictured with his father Bill (a past HOF inductee) and mother Jan. Submitted photo.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top