FSA county committee nominations underway

USDA’s Wisconsin Farm Service Agency (FSA) announced that FSA county committee farmer and rancher candidate nominations began June 15. The nomination period continues through Aug. 2, with elections taking place this fall.

“I encourage all producers to participate in the county committee election process by nominating candidates by the Aug. 2 deadline,” said Matthew Peplinski, county executive director. “We are counting on as much participation as possible, because county committees are an important link between the farm community and the U.S. Department of Agriculture. We have seen a trend in recent years of increased nominations of minority and women producers and we hope that will continue.”

To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area in which the person is a candidate. The townships that are eligible to vote for the 2010 election are: Langlade county- Parrish, Summit, Vilas, Peck, Upham, Elcho, and Ainsworth; Lincoln county- Bradley, Skanawan, Harrison, and Russell.

Producers may also nominate themselves, and organizations representing minority and women may also nominate candidates. To become a nominee, eligible individuals must sign form FSA-669A. The form and other valuable information about FSA county committee elections are available online at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov/FSA/webapp?area=newsroom&subject=landing&topic=cce.

Nomination forms for the 2010 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug. 2.

FSA county committee members make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other important agricultural issues. Members serve three-year terms. Nationally, there are more than 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees. Committees consist of three to five members who are elected by eligible local producers.

FSA will mail ballots to producers beginning Nov. 5, 2010. The completed ballots are due back to the local county office via mail or in person by Dec. 6.

Newly elected committee members and alternates take office Jan. 1, 2011.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top